Brighton Marathon 2017

We would like to say a huge thank you and congratulations to the 20 CRY runners that took part in the Brighton Marathon on Sunday 9th April 2017, for their kind support and amazing fundraising efforts!

CRY was very lucky this year to have volunteer Spencer Hannon on the day carrying out sports massages after such a challenging event. Malcolm Terry also volunteered at the event and met all the runners as they crossed the finish line to congratulate them for their incredible achievement.

Temperatures reached an unseasonably high 21 degrees, which attracted thousands of supporters on the day, creating an incredible atmosphere! It was great to see so many CRY supporters in the crowds cheering on the team, with their CRY t-shirts and clappers.

Spectators flooded the Beach Village and watched the marathon live on the big screen, enjoying the lovely weather with fish and chips.

The runners who visited the CRY stand after finishing were given a warm welcome, refreshments, a CRY medal and the option to have a sports massage. Barry Holcombe was the first CRY runner to arrive at the stand with an amazing finishing time of 03:27:32.88. It was a pleasure to meet all of our runners, some of whom we met for the first time, as well as the families and friends who came along to support them.

Once again, a huge thank you to the team for doing so well; we really appreciate all of their efforts and kind support.

This is a selection of photos from the day. If you would like to view all of the photos, they are available on our Brighton Marathon 2017 Flickr gallery.

The 20 runners in the CRY team were:

Michael Ainsworth (running in memory of Jocelyn Marlowe Ainsworth); Michelle Ashwell; Sam Barnes (running in memory of Alex Hubbard); Dr Sanjay Bhate (running in memory of Aashi Sinha); Emily Capay (running in memory of Miriam Kate Lee); Patrick Cockram; Jennifer Cox and Darren Tristram (running in memory of Benji Percival); Karen Daniels (running in memory of Matthew Daniels); Collin Fox; Isobel Giles (running in memory of Sara Pilkington); Barry Holcombe (running in memory of Andrew Holcombe); Jason Mitchell (running in memory of Jake Wood); Richard Ponsford (running in memory of James David Colman); Andrew Quew (running in memory of Gemma Louise Quew); Andrew Siveter (running in memory of Sian Roger); Katie Swaysland (running in memory of Nicola Swaysland); Natasha Symonds; Rebecca Waller (running in memory of Ceri Abigail Palmer); Laura Westwell (running in memory of Robert Worboys)