Brighton Marathon 2014

brightman2014lThank you and congratulations to the CRY runners who took part in the Brighton Marathon on Sunday 6th April 2014.

For the first time, CRY had a presence at this popular event. Kylie Wroe (CRY staff) met the CRY runners at the start in Preston Park, to offer support and encouragement. Most of the CRY runners went to meet Kylie before the race, so we were able to wish them good luck before they set off and the runners got the chance to meet other CRY runners.

The day started off quite dull and overcast but slowly started to brighten up as the runners approached the start line. The crowds started to line the streets at around 11am, creating a lively atmosphere. As the day went on, the sun finally came out at around lunchtime.

Kylie was joined by CRY myheart member Joseph Tanner to cheer and encourage the runners along the route. Meanwhile, CRY volunteer Will Wright was taking photos along the route before making his way to the finish, ready to capture each runner in action.

CRY runners who visited the CRY stand after finishing were given a warm welcome, drinks, snacks and a CRY goody bag by CRY staff Nicola Taylor and Lesley Dallow. Daniel Tye was the first CRY runner to arrive at the meet-and-greet point with an amazing finishing time of 3 hours 30 minutes.

It was wonderful to finally meet some of the runners, as well as their family and friends, and to put names to faces.

Thank you and well done again to all of our runners. We are very grateful to them for choosing to take part for CRY. We would also like to say a huge thank you to CRY volunteers Joseph Tanner and Will Wright, for helping to make the day a success.

We look forward to, hopefully, seeing more runners next year!

The 9 runners in the CRY team were: Daniel Allen (running in memory of Kyle Hancock); Amy Dury (running in memory of Arabella Campbell); Jason Mitchell (running in memory of Jake Wood); Emma O’Dyson (running in memory of Adele Cashman); Sarah Rippon; Chris Sampson (running in memory of Arabella Campbell); Daniel Tye (running in memory of Carolyn Broussely); Beth Watson (running in memory of Chris Dart) and Lucy Woodthorpe (running in memory of Adele Cashman).