Great North Run 2013

2013gnr1Congratulations and a huge ‘thank you’ to the 55 runners who took part in the BUPA Great North Run in aid of CRY on Sunday 15th September 2013. This year’s race saw over 55,000 runners take part! Everyone seemed to enjoy another fantastic race day and the weather was mainly dry before a torrential downpour.

For the fourth year running, CRY had a stand in the Bronze Marquee, which was excellent for raising awareness amongst passers by. The whole area that was allocated to us was CRY-branded and had plenty of literature and CRY information for runners and spectators who were not familiar with the charity and wanted to find out more.

40 of the CRY runners came back to the marquee and were welcomed by our wonderful volunteers – Jane, Ed, Les, Iris, Jordan and Dylan – with lots of water, fruit, chocolates and sausage rolls. This year they also managed to secure some towels from a local hotel so that the runners could dry off!

A special thank you to Alison Edwards who ran in a CRY Heart costume – our costumes are a great way to raise awareness for CRY. We also want to thank everyone who went to meet our volunteers at the CRY stand, despite feeling exhausted. As always, it was a challenging day for everyone, and especially difficult for those who were running in memory of a partner, family member or friend.

We are grateful to those who sent in photographs from the day. If you haven’t already, then please do send any photos you have to  We will include as many as possible on the CRY website.

Once again, we would like to thank each and every runner for their huge efforts in completing the half marathon and fundraising for CRY. Their time and valued support are truly appreciated. Congratulations and well done to them all!  We look forward to hopefully seeing some of you again, next year. The date of next year’s event is Sunday 7th September 2014.

CRY runners in the 2013 Great North Run were: Julian Bailey (running in memory of Andy Baker); Kelley Barlow (running in memory of Stuart Parkinson); Bob Bennell; Claire Brassington (running in memory of John Plant); Gabby Broadhurst (running in memory of David Green); George Roy Carter and Matthew Robert Carter (running in memory of  Bobby Dorka); Karen Cartwright (running in memory of Liam Hipkin); Paul Clark (running in memory of Graeme Bell); Nicole Collingwood (running in memory of Neil Darby); Adam Cook; Wayne Corcoran (running in memory of Lloyd Walsh); Pete Cowen (running in memory of Kevin Paterson); Kirsty (Capt.) Davies-Walters (running in memory of Nick Guya); Colin Dibbert (running in memory of Nick Guya); Angela Dixon (running in memory of Diane and Michael); Alison Edwards (running in memory of Andrew Murch); Karen Flintoft (running in memory of Lewis James Barry); Max Foreman (running in memory of Craig Rawlinson); Kelly and Jody Gardner; Kelly Jane Gleadow (running in memory of Graeme Bell); Mick Glynn; Michael Gray; Matthew Ian Green (running in memory of Nick Guya); Nicola Green (running in memory of Kevin Paterson); Karen Marie Gwynne; John Harrison (running in memory of Graham Harrison); Simon Heseltine (running in memory of Levon Morland); Barry Holcombe (running in memory of Andrew Holcombe); Caroline Howe (running in memory of Andy Bake); Emma HutchinsonMike Jarrett (running in memory of Zoe Teale); Mark John Kenny (running in memory of Thomas Hardman); Zoe Louise Kyle (running in memory of Sarah Gamble); Adam Lawton (running in memory of Liam Wood and Nathan Butler); Sarah Lovell; Julie Malpiedi (running in memory of Matthew Philip Thoppil); Greg Mason (running in memory of Zoe Teale); Jennifer McKenna; Jamie Morgan (running in memory of Andy Baker); Aran Morland (running in memory of Levon Morland); Vicki Nee (running in memory of Adam Green); Kevin Nicholas (running in memory of James Nicholas); Paul Opie (running in memory of Paul Steven Loach); Sarah Rippon; Anna Semens (running in memory of Kevin Paterson); Deb Smith (running in memory of Luke Macleod); Lisa Sullivan (running in memory of Sean Farrell); Ian Tattershaw (running in memory of Reece Jeffrey); Dennis Tailor; Peter Teale (running in memory of Zoe Teale); Steve Walker (running in memory of David Green); Sophie Wharton; and Tony Wheatman (running in memory of Craig Wilson).